earth_america
user_standard Log on
action_search_stroke
earth_america
Log on to rate and give feedback 1 2 3 4 5 Log on to rate
0
How to

How to


Products: AS-B, Edge Server, Enterprise Central, Enterprise Server, AS-P, Virtual Project Servers
Functionalities: User Management
Product version: 2023, 2024
12/17/2022

Preventing a Group of Users from Exiting WorkStation

You prevent a group of users from exiting WorkStation to make sure that WorkStation is not closed on a permanent EcoStruxure BMS computer. This feature must be disabled for all user account groups the user is a member of.

Show More
action_close

A user account can be a member of one or more user account groups and belongs to a particular domain.

User Accounts

A user account uniquely identifies a user to the system. When setting up user accounts, keep the following points in mind:

  • Configure as few settings as possible at the user account level.

  • Assign a required user name and password, which the system uses for identification and authentication purposes. For more information, see Password Administration .

  • The user account is unique within the domain it belongs to. For example, an admin user account is located in Domain A. This account cannot be used to administrate Domain B. For more information, see Domains .

  • Manage accounts at the domain level using a default administrator account. For more information, see Administration Accounts in EcoStruxure BMS Server Local Domain .

  • Track user activity at the user-account level. For more information, see Audit Trailing of User Activity .

User Account Groups

A User Account Group can contain both user accounts and other user account groups. To facilitate the creation and administration of users, assign software permissions and workspaces to user account groups instead of individual user accounts.

In this example, Paul is a member of the Janitor group and the Administrator group. His account inherits the software permissions and workspaces of both groups. Susan is a member of the Administrator group and inherits the software permissions and workspaces of the Administrator group.

 
action_zoom_plus_stroke A user account belongs to a domain and is a member of one or more user account groups

A user account belongs to a domain and is a member of one or more user account groups

Note:
  • Although user accounts are members of user account groups, they are not physically stored in user account groups. Instead, user accounts and user account groups are parallel entities so that individual accounts can be members of one or more groups.

Windows Active Directory User Groups

You can map Windows Active Directory groups to EcoStruxure Building Operation user account groups if the EcoStruxure Building Operation software runs on a network that uses this directory to manage users and user account groups. An EcoStruxure Building Operation user account group that includes a Windows account group can be member of another EcoStruxure Building Operation user account group.

For more information, see Windows Active Directory User Groups .

WorkStation Account Management

​As a WorkStation administrator, you can change passwords, track user activities, validate accounts, and set up user and user and user group accounts.

For more information, see WorkStation Account Management .

To prevent a group of users from exiting WorkStation
  1. In WorkStation, in the System Tree pane, select the EcoStruxure BMS server you want to configure.

  2. Click the Control Panel tab.

  3. Click Account management .

  4. In the Domain list, select the domain the user account group belongs to.

  5. In the User Account Groups list, select the user account group.

  6. Click Policies .

  7. In the Policies tab, clear the Allow members to close WorkStation box.

  8. Click the Save

     
    action_zoom_plus_stroke
    button.

  • User Accounts and User Account Groups
  • Software Permissions, User Accounts, and User Account Groups
  • Control Panel Tab
  • User Account Group – Policies Tab
  • Cannot Close WorkStation
  • Enabling a Group of Users to Exit WorkStation